• Matt_s Swirls

Search form

Monthly archive


Angela Cugini has been awarded a fellowship from the SPE Foundation (an affiliate of the Society of Plastics Engineers) for 2013.

SPE Foundation

July 1, 2013

Jonathan Pham has received a 2013 Chateaubriand Fellowship, given by the French government for US-French collaboration. For six months, Jonathan will be working at ESPCI in Paris, France with Professors Anke Lindner and Olivia du Roure... Read More...

May 10, 2013

Daytona Beach, FL with Chuck Paul (Henkel Corporation) and Prof. Ali Dhinojwali (Univ. Akron)

Michael Bartlett won the Alan Gent Distinguished Student Paper Award at the 2013 Adhesion Society Annual Meeting for his paper “... Read More...

May 1, 2013

Polina Ware has been awarded a 2013 James Mackenzie Graduate Scholarship from the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE), Thermoset Division.

April 15, 2013

Alex Briseno will be the honors convocation speaker at California State University on Friday, April 26, 2013.

April 15, 2013

Minchao is the recipient of the 2013 Arkema Award. This award recognizes for her outstanding achievement in the coursework as well as cumulative exam performance.

Read More

March 30, 2013

Svetlana has received the Bayer Materials Science Merit Scholarship for outstanding achievement in the coursework as well as cumulative exam performance.

Read More 

March 2, 2013

Shelby was awarded for her thesis entitled, Deformation Behavior and Mechanical Analysis of Vertically Aligned Carbon Nanotube (VACNT) Bundles for developing simple models to describe the deformation of carbon nanotube assemblies under... Read More...

February 28, 2013

Geckskin, a super-strong adhesive device developed by Al Crosby, Michael Bartlett and colleagues, was named one of the top 5 scientific breakthroughs of 2012.

In the Loop
CNN Money

January 1, 2013

PSE faculty selected Piril for the Santos Go award for 2012. The Santos Go Memorial Merit Scholarship is awarded each year to the most outstanding second year PSE student as judged by scholarly accomplishments accrued during the... Read More...

January 1, 2013

Professor Maria Santore was recently elected, for the year 2012, to Fellowship in the AAAS (American Society for the Advancement of Science.) Maria will be recognized for her contributions to science and technology at the Fellows Forum... Read More...

January 1, 2013

Ken Carter was given an NSF Special Creativity Award from the Division of Materials Research of National Science Foundation (NSF) in recognition of his excellent research on semiconducting polymers involving hybrid moieties and the... Read More...

December 4, 2012

Jim Watkins has been elected a 2012 APS Fellow (American Physical Society) by the Division of Polymer Physics for his pioneering efforts in manipulating polymers to develop technologically functional nanoscopic materials. Jim will be... Read More...

December 1, 2012

Professor Kenneth Carter was honored with the Percy Julian Medal in a ceremony at the 39th Annual Conference of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists & Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE), September... Read More...

October 15, 2012

As of September 1, 2012, Al Crosby has been promoted to full professor.

September 2, 2012

President Obama recently named Alejandro Briseno to receive a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). This is the highest honor bestowed by the federal government on science and engineering professionals... Read More...

August 13, 2012

PSE welcomes David Waldman ('83 alum) as the new CUMIRP Program Director.

July 9, 2012

The NDSEG Fellowship is sponsored and funded by the Department of Defense (DoD) as part of its commitment to increasing the number and quality of our nation's scientists and engineers.


June 25, 2012

Tom Russell has been named the Spring 2012 Kalvi Lecturer. He will give a presentation at the upcoming MRS Meeting on April 9th, 2012 in San Francisco, California.


March 13, 2012

This grant has been awarded to study bioadhesion in geckos and insects. The researchers received international scientific and media attention recently for their discovery reported in the journal Advanced Materials, of how gecko feet and... Read More...

March 10, 2012