• Matt_s Swirls

Search form

Monthly archive


Tom Russell has been named the Spring 2012 Kalvi Lecturer. He will give a presentation at the upcoming MRS Meeting on April 9th, 2012 in San Francisco, California.


March 13, 2012

This grant has been awarded to study bioadhesion in geckos and insects. The researchers received international scientific and media attention recently for their discovery reported in the journal Advanced Materials, of how gecko feet and... Read More...

March 10, 2012

Greg Grason, was among 126 researchers in the United States and Canada to be awarded prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

February 13, 2012

Dr. Alex Ribbe has recently joined our department as the Director of the W. M. Keck Electron Microscopy Facility.

November 13, 2011

Tom was honored at the Seventh Annual Faculty Convocation on Friday, September 16, 2011. He was one of six acclaimed faculty members who were presented with the Award.
More Info

September 20, 2011

Effective September 1st, 2011, Ken Carter, Bryan Coughlin, Todd Emrick and Greg Tew have been promoted to full professor.

September 13, 2011

The National Science Foundation has awarded a five-year, $20 million grant to support a national research center for nanomanufacturing through a second round of funding for the Center for Hierarchical Manufacturing (CHM).

CHM...

September 7, 2011

Al Crosby was awarded a 2011 ESPCI-Michelin Fellowship to visit academic and industrial laboratories in Paris.

August 13, 2011

Muthu has just published a detailed monograph on the threading of charged linear polymers through molecule-diameter holes (i.e., polymer translocation). As the first book on charged-facilitated polymer transport, a field to which... Read More...

June 20, 2011

After spending 157 days aboard the International Space Station, Expedition 27 Commander Dmitry Kondratyev and Flight Engineers Cady Coleman, who received her PhD from PSE in 1991, and Paolo Nespoli landed safely at 10:27 p.m. EDT Monday... Read More...

June 1, 2011

The Navy announced that Alex is to receive an ONR Young Investigator award for "compelling research with the potential to deliver game-changing naval science and technology".

April 20, 2011

At the ACS Spring Meeting in Anaheim, CA on March 29-30, 2011, several speakers took part in a special symposia in honor of Professors Richard Farris and Robert Lenz.

April 13, 2011

Ryan's proposal entitled "Crystallization-driven assembly of conjugated-polymer-based nanostructures,” was selected by the Office of Basic Energy Sciences for a five year Early Career Award.

April 5, 2011

President Obama today named Ryan one of 85 researchers to receive a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the... Read More...

November 17, 2010

This award, sponsored by ExxonMobil Chemical, is to recognize and encourage outstanding scientific contributions and innovations in the field of elastomers by younger scientists, technologists and engineers. Crosby has contributed... Read More...

November 17, 2010

Block copolymers self-organize into a myriad of aggregate structures, offering great promise for the construction of delivery vehicles and complex nanoscale assemblies. Recent advances and prospects for these materials are highlighted... Read More...

October 6, 2010

More than $18 million in grants to spur the development of a third generation of DNA sequencing technologies was announced today by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). The new technologies will sequence a person's DNA... Read More...

September 20, 2010

Maria has been selected as a member of the 2010 class of Fellows of The American Chemical Society. The 2010 ACS Fellows were honored at a special ceremony during the ACS National Meeting in Boston on Monday, August 23, 2010.

September 17, 2010

"Inter-filament twist, a common motif of biological filament assemblies, is predicted to favor the incorporation of lattice defects (disclination) into the cross-section of self-assembled bundles. Hence, our results prove that twisted... Read More...

September 1, 2010

Alejandro L. Briseno of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Wenping Hu of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; and coworkers formed single-crystal nanoribbons by selectively crystallizing copper hexadecafluorophthalocyanine (n-type... Read More...

August 25, 2010