• Matt_s Swirls

Search form

Monthly archive


Ryan Hayward is promoted to Full Professor as of September 1, 2015. Congratulations Ryan!

July 1, 2015

Alejandro Briseño officially received tenure and is promoted to Associate Professor as of September 1, 2015. Congratulations Alex!

July 1, 2015

Maria Santore and Post doc Surachate Kalasin, authors of a recent ACS Nano article and the focus of a May 2015 ACS Nano Pod Cast, Episode 94.  They describe their engineering approach to create the ultimate renewable surfaces that... Read More...

June 5, 2015

Thomas McCarthy was honored with the SPSJ International Award from the Society of Polymer Science, Japan. He received this award on May 28th, 2015. 

June 3, 2015

Connor Evans of Lesser Group received the Best Poster Award at the Cabot Student Material Research Forum on May 20, 2015.  His poster title was "Polyamide Processing in Superheated Water."  Connor presented research in which polyamide 6... Read More...

June 1, 2015

An article by M. A. Reyes-Martinez, A. J. Crosby, and  A. L. Briseno.

Marcos A. Reyes-Martinez from the Briseno and Crosby groups developed a device to apply local strains of different magnitudes along the conducting channel in... Read More...

June 1, 2015

An article by Greg Grason published in ACS Macro Letters.

Chirality transfer from molecule to assembly is a ubiquitous process, occurring in every class of self-assembling materials, from liquid crystals to biological matter.... Read More...

April 27, 2015

Al Crosby has been selected for the fellowship, which includes a cash award of $3,500 and a year’s leave of absence to concentrate on activities related to graduate education, research, creative work and scholarly attainment. The... Read More...

April 15, 2015

A team consisting of Yinyong Li (PS&E), George Chang (PS&E), Kris Kolewe (ChE), and Robert Flanagan (ISOM), have won this year’s top prize for their start-up, FogKicker, in the 2015 campus-wide UMass Innovation Challenge... Read More...

April 10, 2015

Coralie Backlund has been awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Program Scholarship. Beginning in September of this year, she will spend 10 months at the Technical University of Denmark working with Professor Thomas Lars Andresen in the... Read More...

April 10, 2015

A letter by Liming Wang and Thomas J McCarthy* published in the current issue of PNAS.

The McCarthy group reported the preparation of particles by polymerization of liquid monomer capillary bridges to form catenoid-shaped... Read More...

April 3, 2015

A communication by Dong-Po Song, Ying Lin, Yue Gai, Nicholas S.  Colella, Cheng Li, Xiao-Hui Liu, Samuel Gido, James J. Watkins* published in the current issue of JACS.

The Watkins group reported a simple strategy for the... Read More...

March 30, 2015

Todd was awarded the 2015 Carl S. Marvel Creative Polymer Chemistry Award at the ACS Meeting in Denver, CO on Tuesday, March 24, 2015. This award is given to recognize and encourage accomplishments or innovation of unusual merit in the... Read More...

March 25, 2015

An article by Brittany M. deRonde, Alexander Birke, and Gregory N. Tew* is featured in the February 9th issue of Chemistry - A European Journal.

Brittany M. deRonde et al. developed a series of ROMP-based cell penetrating... Read More...

February 18, 2015

Maria Santore will give her lecture on April 29, 2015. The Grace Hopper Lecture Series is intended to serve the dual purpose of recognizing successful women in engineering and of inspiring students to achieve at the highest level. Grace... Read More...

January 28, 2015

An article by Lei Zhang, Feng Liu, Ying Diao, Hilary S. Marsh, Nicholas S Colella, Arthi Jayaraman, Thomas P. Russell, Stefan C. B. Mannsfeld*, and Alejandro L. Briseno* is featured in the current issue of JACS.

Dr. Lei Zhang...

December 24, 2014

An article by Hyunbok Lee, Egle Puodziukynaite, Yue Zhang, John C. Stephenson, Lee J. Richter, Daniel A Fischer, Dean M. DeLongchamp, Todd Emrick*, and Alejandro L. Briseno* is featured in the current issue of JACS.

Dr. Hyunbok...

December 24, 2014

Al Crosby has been elected a 2014 NAI fellow for demonstrating “a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the... Read More...

December 24, 2014

Anesia Auguste recently won an award for her oral presentation at 2014 SACNAS (Society for the Advancement of Chicanos/ Hispanics & Native Americas in Science) National Conference in Los Angeles, CA.

December 5, 2014

Alan Lesser was awarded an Industry-Academic Research Grant from the UMass Graduate School in collaboration with local Mass company Titeflex.    

CNS News

December 5, 2014