• Matt_s Swirls

Search form

Monthly archive


In addition to receiving a Peebles award, Shruti was the recipient of the Alan Gent Distinguished Student Paper Award for her presentation entitled "Puncture Mechanics of Soft Gels at Small Length Scales" at the 41st Annual Adhesion... Read More...

March 19, 2018

On Tuesday, March 6th, 2018, Professor Santore was presented with the Chancellor's Medal, the highest honor bestowed to faculty by the campus. She was presented with this medal during a reception that followed her talk, "From the... Read More...

March 12, 2018

Murugappan Muthukumar is co-author of the cover story in the August 2015 issue of Physics Today on single-molecule sensing with nanopores.

Like thread through the eye of a needle, DNA, protein, and other chain-like biomolecules... Read More...

August 17, 2015

Todd was awarded the 2015 Carl S. Marvel Creative Polymer Chemistry Award at the ACS Meeting in Denver, CO on Tuesday, March 24, 2015. This award is given to recognize and encourage accomplishments or innovation of unusual merit in the... Read More...

March 25, 2015

Al Crosby has been elected a 2014 NAI fellow for demonstrating “a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the... Read More...

December 24, 2014

Jim Watkins assisted Chancellor Subbaswamy in welcoming the Mass Governor-elect Charlie Baker. This was reported on in the Boston Globe.

UMass News & Media Relations

Boston Globe

December 5, 2014

An article written by Z. Page, Y. Liu, V. Duzhko, T. Russell and T. Emrick has been published in Science magazine.

The development of more efficient and longer lasting organic solar cells has been hampered by a trade-off between... Read More...

October 10, 2014

Jim was featured on Fox 25 Boston on Wednesday, August 6, 2014 regarding his research on biosensors.

This news story was based on the Boston Globe article,  "UMass patch would spot stressed-out soldiers” by Naila Moreira.

...
August 8, 2014

Todd has been selected as a member of the 2014 class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society (ACS). He was honored at a special ceremony during the ACS National Meeting in San Francisco on Monday, August 11, 2014. A full list of... Read More...

August 4, 2014

An article by Y. Cao, Y. Liang, L. Zhang, S. Osuna, A.-L. M. Hoyt,  A. L. Briseno*, and K. N. Houk* is featured in J. Am. Chem. Soc.

The Houk (UCLA) and Briseno groups investigated the Diels–Alder reactions of pentacene (PT) and... Read More...

July 28, 2014

Russell recently published a perspective in Science on properties in nanoscopic polymer materials.

Publication Date: September 20, 2013

In his 1959 paper, Richard Feynman stated that the homogeneous properties of... Read More...

September 30, 2013

Professor Laura Bradley received the 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award for her work developing "Universal Encapsulants: Depletant-Meditated Self-Assembly of Clickable Capsules."

April 9, 2018

Lab Talk with Laura is a weekly radio show where Laura Fattaruso and a local comic interview STEM researchers at UMass Amherst. 

Check out Marcus and Todd's interview! 

March 23, 2018

“We’re excited to renew our partnership with UMass Amherst and its world-renowned research faculty to continue developing a targeted, localized therapy that could address an unmet medical need in rheumatoid arthritis,” said Dr. Charles... Read More...

January 26, 2018

In addition to being published in Macromolecules, M. Muthukumar's article A Perspective on Polyelectrolyte Solutions is featured on the cover and is included in the ACS Editors choice 50th Anniversary Perspectives.

About the...

January 3, 2018

The following patents have been issued to PSE faculty for 2017. Congrats!

Al Crosby - "Devices for Application and Load Bearing and Method of Using the Same"

Todd Emrick & Bryan Coughlin - "Deoxybenzoin-Derived Anti-...

December 20, 2017

Chinmay Saraf of the Lesser Group received the 2017 Santos Go Award. This award is given to the most outstanding second year PSE student as judged by scholarly accomplishments accrued during the previous academic year. 

More on...

December 13, 2017

The National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) has awarded PSE Adjunct Professor and PhD Alum ('74) Ashok Misra a NASI Platinum Jubilee Chair Distinguished Professorship.  Professor Misra has joined the Indian Institute of Science,... Read More...

November 6, 2017

2017 marks the 50th anniversary of Professor Robert Lenz' monograph, The Organic Chemistry of Synthetic High Polymers, published by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. in 1967. It has been the model for textbooks in the field and as a result... Read More...

September 29, 2017

As part of his focus on macromolecular phenomena, Muthukumar, the Wilmer D. Barrett Distinguished Professor in Polymer Science and Engineering, studies proteins in the lens of the human eye. His research has led to technology that holds... Read More...

September 18, 2017