Hayward Research Group

Hayward Research Group

On leave at CU Boulder for 2020-2021

Phone: See-link-above
Email: rhayward@mail.pse.umass.edu

Degree Information:

B.S.E. Chemical Engineering, Princeton University, 1999
Ph.D Chemical Engineering, UC Santa Barbara, 2004

Curriculum Vitae

Mailing Address:

Department of Polymer Science and Engineering
Room: , Conte Research Center
University of Massachusetts Amherst
120 Governors Drive
Amherst, MA 01003

Research Interests

Assembly of polymer and particle-based nanostructures; mechanics and instabilities of soft active materials

Current Research

Active polymer materials and interfaces 

Our group works on a variety of projects related to soft and stimulus-responsive polymer films that can be dynamically reconfigured to change their structures and properties. We take advantage of mechanical instabilities and patterned growth as mechanisms to drive structural transformations.

Self assembly of polymers and particles

We study questions related to assembly of polymers and particles in a variety of contexts including emulsion processing, solution-state crystallization-driven assembly, and melt-state organization in nanocomposites. Our primary interests lie in developing approaches to tailor nanoscale structure for materials with applications ranging from encapsulation and delivery to renewable energy.

To learn more, click on the "Research" or "Publications" links to the left, or contact us.

Honors and Distinctions:

  • National Science Foundation Special Creativity Extension (2019)
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society (2018)
  • Blavatnik National Awards Finalist in Physical Sciences & Engineering (2018)
  • Chaire Michelin, ESPCI (2016)
  • Dudley A. Saville Lecturer, Princeton University (2014)
  • American Physical Society John H. Dillon Medal (2014) 
  • Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award (2013)
  • DOE Early Career Award (2011)
  • ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry Unilever Award (2011) 
  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (2010) 
  • 3M Nontenured Faculty Award (2009-2011) 
  • ACS Petroleum Research Fund Doctoral New Investigator Award (2009) 
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2008)