University of Massachusetts Amherst

Polymer Science and Engineering

Prof. Thomas P. Russell
Silvio O. Conte Distinguished Professor,Polymer Science and Engineering Department
Director, Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC)—Polymer-Based Materials for Harvesting Solar Energy
Associate Director, MassNanoTech
Associate Editor, Macromolecules


Mailing Address:

Department of Polymer Science and Engineering
Room A516, Conte Research Center
University of Massachusetts Amherst
120 Governors Drive
Amherst, MA 01003

Phone: 413-545-2680 ; 413-577-1511

Fax: 413-577-1510



  • Ph. D., Polymer Science and Engineering, 1979, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
  • M. S., Polymer Science and Engineering, 1976, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
  • B. S., Chemistry, 1976, Boston State College


  • Universitaet Mainz, Institut fuer Physikalische Chemie, Research Fellow, Mainz, Germany,
  • International Business Machines Corporation, Research Division, Research Staff Member,
  • University of Massachusetts at Amherst, 1994-present

Honors and Distinctions:

Director, Energy Frontier Research Center, University of Massachusetts, 2009-present

Arthur K.  Doolittle Award, ACS, Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering, 1984

Fellow, American Physical Society, 1990

Consulting Professor, Stanford University, Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory, 1992-1995

Chairman, Division of High Polymer Physics, American Physical Society, 1993

Vice President, Neutron Scattering Society of America, 1993-1996

Chairman, Steering Committee for the Spallation Neutron Source, 1996-1998

Director, Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, University of Massachusetts, 1997-2009

Chairman, Solid State Science Committee, National Research Council, 1998-1999

Scientific Advisory Committee, Spallation Neutron Source, 1998-2003

Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2002

American Chemical Society Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science and Engineering, 2003

Rhodia Professorship, Rhodia Corporation, 2003

Dutch Polymer Award, 2004

Distinguished Professor of Polymer Science, University of Massachusetts, 2004

Polymer Physics Prize, Division of Polymer Physics, American Physical Society, 2004

Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity, UMass Amherst, 2005

Board of Directors, Materials Research Society, 2006

Principle Investigator, World Premier Institute, Advanced Institute for Materials Science, 2006-present

Fellow, Neutron Scattering Society of America, 2007

Elected Member, National Academy of Engineering, 2008

Fellow, Materials Research Society, 2010

Fellow, Polymer Materials Science and Engineering Division, American Chemical Society, 2010

Adjunct Professorship, Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology, 2010-present

Barnett F. Dodge Distinguished Lecturer, Yale University, Spring 2010

Editorial Board Member, Current Opinion in Chemical Engineering, April, 2011-present

Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity, UMass Amherst, 2011

Honorary Distinguished Professor, Chinese Academy of Science, Chang chun Institute of Applied Chemistry, 2011-present

International Advisory Board, Chinese Journal of Polymer Science, 2011-present

Electorate Nominating Committee, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2012 – 2015

Provost Lecture, University of Pennsylvania, March 12, 2012

Fred Kavli Distinguished Lecturer, Materials Research Society, April 2012

John B. Derienx Lecturer, North Carolina State University, April 30, 2012